Recipe Round-Up: Pumpkin

Pumpkin is one of my favorite things to bake with. I didn’t even know I liked pumpkin until college, when I started trying all the pumpkin baked goods on menus around town. From pumpkin gooey butter cake to pumpkin pancakes… I was hooked. I fell madly in love with a Pumpkin Pie Concrete at the local frozen custard stand too. Imagine a slice of pie blended INTO smooth vanilla frozen custard. Oh how I miss easy access to that great treat!

I stumbled into a Google rabbit hole yesterday and discovered a lot of canned pumpkin is actually not quite what we imagine. Apparently, some brands use a form of squash that is better for canning and baking, but not exactly the standard “pumpkin” we think of. It appears to be a bit contentious whether these squashes should be classified as “pumpkins” or not.

Squash, pumpkin, whatever the right word: I’m digging it. There’s just something so delicious about the texture pumpkin adds to baked goods, and the hint of flavor. Pumpkin itself is actually not that strong of a flavor in baked goods on its own, so spices usually help elevate the flavor profile to the type of taste experience you expect to have. Below are some of my favorite pumpkin recipes I’ve made in the past… and I already have a ton of recipes lined up for this year!

Oh, and if you’re curious about baking with other kinds of squash: I highly recommend it! I loved these Butternut Squash Cupcakes when I tried them, and have been itching to try this Squash and Cheddar Bread for a realllly long time.

My favorite pumpkin recipes (so far!)

20151031_205653Pumpkin Pie Spice Cookie Butter Blondies: This is one of my top recipes on Sugarsmith. It’s basically a simple blondie recipe… but with the Trader Joe’s special edition Pumpkin Pie Spice Cookie Butter blended into the batter.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars: One of my perennial fall favorites–I break my “don’t repeat” rule for this one. The perfect blend of spices really makes the pumpkin shine.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding: Having people over for a fall-ish brunch? This bread pudding is super simple and really delightful. You can make your own pumpkin spice mix or buy it at the store to save a step.

mini-pumpkin-pies-with-chocolate-cookie-crusts

Mini Pumpkin Oreo Pies from Just Jenn. This is her picture, because I made these before I even had a baking blog (!!!!)

Mini Pumpkin Oreo Pies: I made this for Thanksgiving a couple years ago and it was a hit! Muffin tins are lined with an Oreo crust, then you pour a pumpkin filling on top. It’s a great blend of chocolate and pumpkin!

Pumpkin Cookies with Brown Butter Icing: The brown butter icing makes these pretty rich, but it’s a great complement to the soft pumpkin cookies below.

Pumpkin Cornbread: If you’re looking for something more savory, this pumpkin cornbread will hit the spot. It’s a really nice accompaniment to stews or you could even eat it for breakfast!

Have pumpkin recipes you think I should add to my baking to-do list? Let me know below!

Thoughts?

