Web-Hopping vol. 24

It’s a gloomy weekend here in San Francisco. That’s quite alright by me, because I have nowhere to go, and nothing to do! My last couple months were pretty jam-packed, so I decided to lay low this weekend. My plans for the next couple days? Reading, writing, baking, repeat. In other words: it’s gonna be awesome.

Don’t worry, though. I’m not missing out on Halloween entirely. We had a super fun Halloween party yesterday at work and wore costumes all day. My team dressed up as characters from “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” in a tribute to Gene Wilder. It was loads of fun… but now I have the Oompa Loompa song stuck in my head!

img_2148After work, the whole company headed to a costume contest and Halloween bash. There were some creative nibbles, from Cookie Monster cupcakes to “mummy in a blanket” hot dogs and monster Rice Krispie treats. I’ve been eyeing those monsters on Pinterest for a while, so it was fun to see them come to life!

Now, on to the links! Here are a few favorite food-ish things from the past week:

img_7467-1-dragged-tiff-683x1024

From the Butter Baking site

A new cake crush: How beautiful are these cakes? I stumbled on Butter Baking’s site the other day and fell in love with Natasha’s style. Natasha lives in Australia… any Australian readers want to take one for the team, and order a custom cake?

Cream cheese Funfetti bars: The NYT did an awesome piece on Funfetti a couple days ago so I have sprinkles on my mind. Fun fact: Pinterest users ages 25-34 have saved 260% more Funfetti ideas this year! That’s a lotttttta Funfetti.

Apple monkey bread muffins: These easy muffins look like the perfect morning treat. I love that they use apple butter–it’s one of my favorite fall flavors! And since this recipe uses biscuit dough, you don’t even have to worry about yeast.

img_2125Vampire donuts: These vampire donuts totally made my Wednesday morning. Sitting near the marketing team has its perks! They had some leftover supplies, so we all got to make our own spooky treats.

Cherry lime gooey butter bars: I’m a huge fan of gooey butter cake, a St. Louis classic that doesn’t get the credit it deserves. Bakers Royale added an awesome fruity twist with this cherry-lime combo.

For many, many more recipe ideas, take a peek at my Pinterest boards.

Thoughts?

