Thin Mint-Stuffed Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

When I tried my first bite of these cookies, the first words out of my mouth were “Well, these are ridiculous.” But in a really good way… a buttery, minty, lip-smacking way.

DSC07867

An interior shot

The title here describes exactly what these are: I made a classic chocolate chip cookie recipe, but swapped in a mint chocolate chip blend instead of standard chocolate chips. Then, I put a Girl Scout Thin Mint cookie in between two chunks of dough, sandwiching it in and pinching the edges shut. When you bake these up, they just look like super puffy cookies… and then the Thin Mint inside is a most wonderful surprise!

My inspiration for this came from Jenny at Picky Palate. You see, Jenny is the queen of stuffing 1 baked good inside another. I’ve made her brownie-stuffed cookies in the past, to rave reviews. And I recently bought Oreos with my sights on making her Oreo-Stuffed Cookies. But then…. plot twist: a Girl Scout talked me into buying Thin Mints. And I realized those would taste utterly delicious stuffed inside a cookie. And then I realized this was the perfect time to use my mint chocolate chip blend I’d stockpiled over Christmas.

Thus, these cookies were born. You could use any chocolate chip cookie recipe you like, or even swap it out for something like sugar cookies. I love Jenny’s base chocolate chip cookie recipe, though, so I stuck with her instructions for the base dough. It’s a pretty perfect cookie base- just the right amount of butter, vanilla, and sugar to hit the spot. I hate when “novelty” cookies forget the basics and try to disguise sub-par cookie bases under loads of mix-ins or toppings. Jenny’s recipes never do that, so I’m sticking by her dough!

DSC07861

Colossal cookies

One lesson I learned was to use less dough to sandwich the cookie. I knew I had to use enough dough to completely cover the cookie so it wouldn’t burst in baking, but in retrospect, the perimeter of dough around the cookie was too large. That just means my cookies were gigantic, and it took some cookie-chomping to even hit the Thin Mint. It’s not truly a problem, but personally I would like it better with less cookie around the edges, I think. I started making smaller cookies as I get to the end of the batch and liked those better.

The mint chip blend I used is sadly only available in the winter (I’m a chip stockpiler!). But you could use any type of mint baking chip, e.g. Andres baking chips or Nestle Mint Delightfulls.

And by the way- stuffing things inside cookies is addicting. I can’t stop thinking of other combos to make… and ways to stuff a stuffed cookie into a 3rd layer!

Thin Mint-Stuffed Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

Based on this recipe from Picky Palate with some swaps, and commentary 

Yield: I made 16 stuffed cookies + 2 plain cookies with the extra dough. The original recipe says it yields 24 cookies, so I think that’s more proof I used too much dough per cookie! 

Suggested equipment: A mixer helps 

Total Time: ~40 min 

Cook Time: ~15 minutes 

Ingredients

  • 2 sticks softened butter
  • 3/4 Cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 Cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs (I always set mine out early so they hit room temp)
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract 
  • 3 1/2 Cups all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 10 oz bag mint chocolate chips
  • 1-2 sleeves Thin Mints, depending on how big you want to make your cookies. Each package contains 32 cookies, and I just used 1 sleeve of 16 cookies 

Step by Step Directions

Make your dough

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350F
  2. Line cookie sheets with parchment (I used 3 cookie sheets since these are so big)
  3. Using your mixer, cream the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until well combined
  4. Add in eggs and vanilla, then mix until well combined
  5. In a separate large bowl, mix the flour, salt, and baking soda
  6. Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet ingredients, mixing until just combined
  7. Fold in the mint chocolate chips by hand

Assemble and bake

  1. Using a cookie scoop or a tablespoon, scoop 1 scoop of cookie dough and place it under 1 Thin Mint
  2. Then, put a second scoop on top of the Thin Mint
  3. Use your fingers to close the dough around the Thin Mint cookie, sealing it together so the Thin Mint is totally encased in cookie dough. It should end up looking sort of like a smushed pocket of dough, and you want the edges to be completely sealed so the Thin Mint doesn’t peek out during baking
  4. Place cookies onto your lined baking sheets
  5. Bake cookies for 9-15 minutes, depending on your oven. Mine took 15 minutes to bake through. The top should look set, but not totally firm when you take the cookies out
  6. Let cookies cool on their sheets for 5 minutes, than transfer them to a cooling rack to cool completely

These would probably go really well with milk. My friends and I paired them with Mimosas… because I brought them to a friend’s Wine Bus birthday trip. That worked, too 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Thin Mint-Stuffed Mint Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Caramel-Stuffed Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies | sugarsmith

  2. Pingback: Nutella-Stuffed Gingersnaps | sugarsmith

  3. Pingback: The 2016 Baking Roundup | sugarsmith

  4. Pingback: Mint Oreo Chocolate Chip Cookies | sugarsmith

Thoughts?

