Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

I am not a creature of habit when it comes to baking. It’s not because I hate tradition- in fact, I love food-centric traditions. It’s just that there are so many recipes I want to try, and so few chances to try them. So I tend to try something new every time I bake, hoping to cross more things off my rather long “to bake” list.

20151116_000259But: these Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars are a notable exception. I first made this recipe in 2013, and the last couple years, I’ve just started to crave them as fall sets in. They’re such a wonderful mix of a comforting, cake-y texture with a great mix of spices, smooth subtle pumpkin, and bits of chocolate in every bite. And they’re really easy to make, too: a classic bar recipe that has you mix the dry ingredients, cream the wetter ingredients, then blend the two together. You can pull these together in about an hour- which means you’re only 60 minutes away from enjoying them right this second!

I brought this batch to work, but I’ve brought them to parties in the past. And then there was that time I brought them to a lecture and passed them out to friends in little baggies. As one does.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

Source: Two Peas and Their Pod

Yield:  1 9×13 pan of bars- I think I ended up with 30 pieces somehow but that just means I wasn’t cutting very evenly! 

Suggested equipment: a mixer 

Total Time: ~1 hour 

Cook Time: ~40 minutes 

I broke the original recipe into a few more detailed steps and wrote my own commentary below.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin-pie spice (easy to make your own, sample recipe here)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature (so set it out a bit before you start to actually make the recipe) 
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1 package (12 ounces) semisweet chocolate chips

Step by Step Directions

Get prepped to bake 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Grease a 9-by-13-inch baking pan and set aside

Make your dough

  1. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda, and salt; set aside
  2. With a stand or electric mixer, cream butter and sugar on medium-high speed until smooth
  3. Beat in egg and vanilla until combined
  4. Add pumpkin puree and mix well. The mixture will look somewhat curdled
  5. Reduce speed to low, and mix in dry ingredients until just combined
  6. Fold in chocolate chips (I do this part by hand)

Bake your bars 

  1. Spread batter evenly in prepared pan
  2. Bake bars for 35-40 minutes or until edges begin to pull away from sides of pan and a toothpick inserted in center comes out with just a few moist crumbs attached
  3. Cool bars completely in pan. Cut into squares and serve

 

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bars

  1. Pingback: The Annual Report (vol. 3) | Culture Cookies

  2. Pingback: Web-hopping vol. 24 | sugarsmith

  3. Pingback: Recipe Round-Up: Pumpkin | sugarsmith

Thoughts?

