Web-Hopping vol. 9

This was a rather busy week for me, but I did manage to squeeze in some culinary explorations: excellent Afghan food one night, a slice of decadent chocolate cake on Wednesday, and a farmer’s market visit earlier this morning. I didn’t manage to bake anything myself, but plan to rectify that situation over the next couple days. In the meantime, I salivated over all the yummy-looking things popping up on my screen- so shall we take a look?

From Floating Kitchen

Salted Thyme Chocolate Chip Cookies: I literally said WOW aloud when I saw this recipe on my Pinterest feed. I love baking with herbs and unexpected flavors, so I’ll definitely need to try this soon.

How to freeze cookie dough: This is a helpful tutorial from Sally’s Baking Addiction about the best ways to freeze cookie dough for later use. It’s a baking best proactive, because it guarantees easy cookies whenever you want them. Of course, this assumes you’d have the self-control to not eat all the frozen dough straight from the freezer.

Sea Salt Sweet Book: This new cookbook about baking with salt caught my eye. Sea salt has been uber popular in the U.S. these last couple years, and it really does impart something special to baked goods.

From The Kitchn

Gilded Dessert Stands: I always want to buy cake stands but don’t let myself because I have nowhere to store such things. Aren’t these pretty, though?

Homemade Pumpkin Pie Spice: A lot of people buy pumpkin pie spice, but there’s really no need. This recipe shows you how easy it is to make your own by just combining spices you probably already have. I always keep a jar on hand during the fall/winter baking season.

Pumpkin Apple Cinnamon Roll Muffins:  A mouthful to say, but sounds like a rather delicious mouthful. This combines so many of my favorite “fall” flavors in one tasty-sounding bite.

Thoughts?

