Web-Hopping vol. 8

I finally broke in my new oven! I made some blondies for a Halloween party last night and was very happy with the results. You can expect to see the recipe up here sometime later this week.

This week was much more buttery than I anticipated due to a rather last-minute trip to NYC. I managed to visit 2 new bakeries in 36 hours, and won’t pretend to hide my pride on that. I already blogged about one of the bakeries and will post up a review of the second soon. For now, let’s nibble on some links, shall we?

Seb’s photo of his handiwork. I wish I could just reach into that photo and grab some bread…

Twisted Squash Bread with Smoked Cheddar, Red Onion and Sage: This one comes via my friend Seb, who posted beautiful photos of his finished loaves up on Facebook. I had to have the recipe so he sent it my way. He recommended adding in some garlic and chive and upping the onion a bit. Can’t wait to try this myself!

Tiered Birthday Cake: I love this idea from the blog ginandmorecake. It’s a tiered cake of 3 different flavors to mix things up a bit, and all the flavors sound wonderful: spiced ginger, carrot and walnut lemon drizzle.

Halloween Candy Map: The Kitchn published this map showing the “top” Halloween candy per state and I am very disappointed in California- Life Savers?! That’s definitely not what come to mind when I think of Halloween candy.

From the Kitchn

Mummy Cookies: I know Halloween is sooo yesterday but these cookies are just too adorable not to share. I’m rather un-artistic but I think even I could make these cute cookies look just about right.

Brownie Bites with Oreo Frosting: These sound like the perfect simple treat: a classic brownie topped with a creative frosting.

Chai Shortbread Cookies: I love tea in baked goods so these chai cookies caught my eye.

Thoughts?

