Web-Hopping Vol. 5

My mom visited me last weekend, which was the perfect excuse to visit some of my favorite places. On Saturday we took a walk around the Russian Hill neighborhood and were in the mood for a little something sweet. I remembered that Batter Bakery has a “Cookie Happy Hour” every day from 3-6 PM. A Cookie Happy Hour is one of the best ideas I’ve ever heard- I think it should be just as popular as alcohol-centered happy hours! We stopped into Batter and got a selection of cookies ranging from Cherry Ginger to Peanut Butter. Every cookie was great, so I was glad we got to try a bunch of them.

In honor of my favorite type of Happy Hour, here’s a slew of cookie links for the week:

From The Recipe Critic

Salted Caramel Apple Butter Bars: I love baking with apple butter- I make the same Apple Butter Snickerdoodles every fall. This looks like a fun new take on apple butter with the ever-loved addition of salted caramel.  

Brown Butter Salted Caramel Snickerdoodles: This is an excellent mix of flavors, rolled into one of my favorite types of cookies to play with. I like snickerdoodles on their own but I like them even more when you start mixing in fun accents.

Smoky Cardamom Ginger Molasses Cookies: They had me at smoky. The smoke here comes from simmering cardamom in butter, and then adding a mix of spices and pepper to the dough.

White Chocolate Raspberry Cookies: This recipe is a “copycat” for cookies served at Disneyland. I don’t remember eating this specific recipe growing up but I do have many fond memories of buying Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Cookies from the bakery on Main Street USA. Disney food-copying is a genre in itself- I’ll have to try these out!

From Picky Palate

Oreo and Peanut Butter Brownie Cakes: Ok so these are sort of a brownie-cookie hybrid, but you’ll forgive me for taking creative liberties when you click the link. Oreos are stacked with layers of peanut butter and brownie mix to create a delicious textured treat. This blog’s author is the queen of stuffing treats into other treats- you should check out her Brownie-Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies, too.

One thought on “Web-Hopping Vol. 5

  1. Pingback: Let Me Google That For You | Culture Cookies

Thoughts?

