Web-Hopping Vol. 2

Baking news is starting to look spicy- pumpkin spice-y, that is. I’m seeing lots of fall flavors on my jaunts around the web. I guess in some places, it’s starting to look a lot like fall. In San Francisco, though, we can’t figure out quite what season we’re in: 90 degrees and so hot one day, foggy and cold the next. Our seasons are always more psychological than physical, and our weather rarely maps with “standard” seasonal changes. I don’t think I’m quite ready to welcome fall yet. But once that changes, look out for recipes like pumpkin chocolate chip bars and butternut squash cupcakes and all other kinds of fall goodness.

Now… on to the links!

Photo from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

Cornmeal Lime Cookies: This was referenced in a Kitchn thread and I just had to click on over to check it out. They require whole wheat flour which I never buy, but I think I’m going to have to change that.

Pumpkin Churro Layer Cake: This cake screams fall- and apparently, fall tastes delicious. It’s a pumpkin cake dipped in sugar and cinnamon to mimic churro toppings. This is high on my fall-time cake list!

Kefir goes seasonal: Technically, this link is PR from Lifeway Foods about their new seasonal kefir flavors. But this article got seasonality on my mind, and I think it’s a super interesting trend in packaged foods. Seasonality is “in” whether it’s on the menu at a stellar restaurant or in packaged goods we’ve been eating for years. Lifeway has figured this out and plans to release limited quantities of seasonal flavors to stir interest. Other packaged goods companies should do the same but it can be hard to figure out from a manufacturing and distribution perspective, so bravo Lifeway!

Picture from The Muffin Myth

Chocolate and Olive Oil Zucchini Cupcakes with Salted Honey Mascarpone: I love putting zucchini in baked goods. I’ve done cupcakes, breads, cookies, you name it!

Romanesco, Lemon and Cardamom Cookies: I can’t resist an intriguing recipe and this recipe sure delivers. I love trying out vegetables in baked goods, so I’ll need to get myself some romanesco (or cauliflower) and give these cookies a go.

Have a wonderful week, dear readers!

Thoughts?

